Katy Perry

Every so often, a new musician comes out that I get excited about. The thing with me is that I’ll sit and watch any movie or TV show at least once, but music has got to have some sort of real hook that gets me interested. Well, with song titles like, ‘I Kissed a Girl’ and ‘UR So Gay’ and Aaron telling me, “You are gonna love this!”, Katy Perry caught my attention.

A comment on emo “bois” and metrosexuals, ‘UR So Gay’ is a fun breakup song that is joyfully bitter as she sings, “You’re so gay and you don’t even like boys” with the most sarcastic of smiles and a twinkle of “f*** you” in her eyes. The snarkiness makes her truly a girl after my own heart.

‘I Kissed a Girl’ is a fun pop song (I know, pop POP?!… I can’t believe I willingly have it stuck in my head either). She has a very bold and signature look and graphic style and is different. She’s pop, but has a certain edge that makes her appeal to chicks like me – the smart, classy ones who aren’t afraid to stand out. She also has a genuinely fabulous voice. Her album, One of the Boys, comes out on June 17th and I can’t wait to hear it!

((Oh, and keep your eye out for my upcoming review of it))

Leave a Reply

